Skip To Main Content
Edmonds School District

Special Education Program Review

Message from the Superintendent:

Thank you for reading our webpage about our Special Education Program Review. I am excited to be shepherding this work in our District. I anticipate that the outcomes of this work will help us improve and grow as a system.  I will aim to be as transparent as possible throughout this process; this page will be updated as dates for activities are set and surveys are initiated.  I hope you will check back frequently and engage in this work moving forward.

Rebecca Miner
Superintendent


Project Updates:

11/16/2022: Focus group dates have been set and sign ups are now open. Due to limited seats and high interest, signup for the focus group is only an indicator of interest and availability - please reserve this time to participate. You will be notified if you have been selected to participate. If signups exceed capacity, additional focus groups will be added. All groups will be conducted virtually. AIR is handling the scheduling for these sessions directly, please use the links below to sign up.

Focus Groups Roles Included Focus Group
Date/Time
Focus Group
Signup Link
Building- Level Administrators Principals, Vice Principals Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022; 
4 pm – 5:15 pm PST
Click here
District Administrators & Central Office Staff Directors, Coordinators, Supervisors, and/or other admin roles Thursday, December 1, 2022; 
10 am – 11:15 am PST
Click here
Special Education Teachers, General Education Teachers, Certificated Support Staff Teachers, School Psychologists,  Speech/Language Pathologists, Occupational Therapists, and other certificated support staff roles Monday, December 5, 2022;
4 pm – 5:15 pm PST
Click here
Special Education Teachers, General Education Teachers, Certificated Support Staff Teachers, School Psychologists,  Speech/Language Pathologists, Occupational Therapists, and other certificated support staff roles Tuesday, December 6, 2022;
4 pm – 5:15 pm PST
Click here
Non-Certificated Support Staff Paraprofessionals, transportation, and other non-certificated support staff Wednesday, December 7, 2022;
4:30 pm – 5:45 pm PST
Click here

 

10/25/2022: The superintendent had a productive meeting today with AIR as they continue to plan the study for us. They are working on developing a schedule of activities to occur primarily in November and December with attention given to holidays and breaks. More information will be shared soon.

10/18/2022: AIR is working to develop protocols tailored to our specific district needs and questions. We have been working to share the extant materials they have requested with them. At this time we would ask that you not reach out to them directly to request an opportunity to participate and instead wait for opportunities to be shared via district communication channels and this webpage.

The district is working with the American Institutes for Research to evaluate our special education practices that impact climate, staffing, and communication.

The review aims to identify strengths and needs for district leadership to better understand and improve our current system.

About American Institutes for Research (AIR)

Founded in 1946, AIR is one of the largest not-for-profit behavioral and social science research and evaluation organizations in the world. For more than 25 years, they have provided special education services to schools, districts, states, and the federal government, including conducting comprehensive, mixed methods evaluations of special education programs at the district and school levels. 

Description of Review 

AIR will present findings and develop a report including  a clear description of strengths, needs and challenges. Also included will be a comprehensive list of suggestions to leverage current strengths and address needs and challenges as well as recommendations for developing a comprehensive special education staff communication plan.  

Project Timeline

  • September - October 2022:
    Planning and protocol development
  • October - December 2022
    Data collection
  • January - February 2023
    Data analysis and final report
  • March 2023
    Presentation of findings

Project Activities

For a complete list of proposed extensive data collection and document review, please see the full proposal linked below.

The project will include:

  • Virtual interviews and focus groups
  • Staff survey

Full Proposal

AIR Special Education Program Review

More information on how to participate in these activities will be provided once the calendar of activities has been established. Please do not contact AIR directly.