Skip To Main Content
Edmonds School District

2020 Regional Scholastic Art Award winners

2020 Regional Scholastic Art Award winners

Posted on 02/19/2020

Schack Art Center has announced the regional award recipients of the 2020 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. Presented by the nonprofit organization the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, the 97th Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the country's longest-running and most prestigious scholarship and recognition program for creative students in grades 7–12. This program year, nearly 340,000 works of art and writing were submitted to more than 100 Affiliate Partners across the country. 176 creative teens from the Snohomish County Art Region received 273 regional honors, including Gold Keys, Silver Keys, Honorable Mentions, or American Visions nominations, from local Art Affiliate Schack Art Center.


Edmonds School District Awards:



Gold Key Recipients

Edmonds Woodway H.S.  Tessa Fleming, Giselle Iseli

Alderwood M.S. through J Art Academy  Susanna Lee (2)

Lynnwood H.S.  Hannah Tang

Meadowdale H.S.  Maia Aikens

Mountlake Terrace H.S.  Clare Kaiyala


Silver Key Recipients

Edmonds Woodway H.S.  Phillip Borcher, Giselle Iseli (2), Aubrey Nickle

Meadowdale H.S.  Maia Aikens (2)

Mountlake Terrace H.S.  Clare Kaiyala


Honorable Mention Recipients

Alderwood M.S.  through J Art Academy  Susanna Lee

Edmonds Woodway H.S.  Giselle Iseli, Aubrey Nickle (4), Nahome Yohannes

Lynnwood H.S.  Julisa Garcia-Ruiz

Meadowdale H.S.  Maia Aikens (4)

Mountlake Terrace H.S.  Annabelle Driscoll



In celebration of this year’s recipients, the public is invited to view the Scholastic Art Portfolio Exhibit that will be on display January 29-February 23 in the Emerging Young Artists’ Gallery at the Schack Art Center, 2921 Hoyt Ave., Everett. An exhibit of the individual entries will be featured in the Mezzanine Gallery from February 3-23 with the Opening Reception held on Tuesday, February 4, 5-9pm at the Schack Art Center. Public recognition will be given that same evening at The Scholastic Art Awards Ceremony, which is being held at the Historic Everett Theatre, 2911 Colby Ave., Everett, WA beginning at 6:30 p.m. After the Opening Reception, regular Gallery Hours are as follows: Monday-Friday, 10-6pm; Saturday, 10-5pm; and Sunday, 12-5pm.


The Regional Scholastic Art Awards are co-sponsored by the Schack Art Center, City of Everett Cultural Arts Commission, Wells Fargo and our H’Arts Patrons. Special thanks are extended for the generous support and gift of time of Art Jurors: Staci Adman, Jules Anslow, Whitney Buckingham Beechie, Peggy Dodson, Geoffrey Grice, Tina Hokanson, Sonya Lang, Rich Langley, Debbie McCoy, Gail Knapp Merrick, Ann Morgan, Cindi Morris, Mike O’Day, Julie Perrine, Brandon Ringstadt and Jessamyn Tuttle.


Since the program’s founding in 1923, the Awards have fostered the creativity and talent of millions of students and include a distinguished list of alumni including Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Philip Pearlstein, Sylvia Plath, Stephen King, Richard Linklater, Zac Posen, and Lena Dunham, all of whom received recognition in the Awards when they were teens.


For Gold Key works of art in the Awards’ 18 art categories, including architecture, painting, printmaking, video game design, and more, the opportunities for recognition will continue when the works are adjudicated again on a national level by a panel of leading creative professionals. National Gold Medalists will be announced in March 2020 and will be honored during a special awards ceremony at the world-famous Carnegie Hall in New York City in June 2020. All National Medalists are eligible for additional opportunities such as inclusion in the Art.Write.Now.Tour traveling exhibition.