• Select a School
  • Language

AMS tech students earn top state scores

Alderwood Middle School tech students earn top state scores

Members of Alderwood Middle School’s Technology Students Association (TSA) earned top scores among middle schools statewide at the Washington State Conference in March.

Students, who participated remotely because of the Covid-19 Pandemic, placed in the top five in 23 events, sometimes sweeping those events.

“Our advisers worked overtime to make sure all of their entries were successfully planned, videotaped and submitted,” principal Brian Stewart said.

Teachers Jack Seymour and Michelle Dombroski, with help from Chromebook Technician Solon Scott, guided the students who competed in the event.

Stewart said students who qualified at the state conference would have attended the National TSA Conference in late June. That event, however, has been canceled.


Computer Aided Drafting 

3rd Place – William Christianson

2nd Place – Grayden Engstrom


Career Prep 

1st place – Luke Tanghal

Children’s Stories

2nd Place – Susanna Lee, Kylie Symington, Tsu Sasai


2nd Place – Nathan Kelm, Wanhao Zhang

Cyber Security

4th Place – Spencer Jolly

3rd Place – David Polevoy 

2nd Place – Nathan Lehman

Digital Photography

4th Place – Tsu Sasai


3rd Place – Spencer Jolly 

2nd Place – Rebecca Coates 

1st Place – Conor Neely

Essays on Technology

1st Place – Luke Tanghal


4th Place – Judah Deuman

Foundations of Information Technology

4th Place – Rowan jolly

3rd Place – Arian Manshadi

2nd Place – Wyatt Kee

1st Place – Myles Beames

Junior Solar Sprint

1st Place – William Christianson, Conor Neely, Luke Tanghal, Kaleb Wendt

Leadership Strategies

1st Place – Nathan Lehman, Jane Litvinov, David Polevoy

Mass Production

2nd Place – Mustafa Ali, David Polevoy, Kaleb Wendt, Wyatt Kee

Mechanical Engineering

3rd Place – Myles Beames, Jackson Potter, Augustine Menke 

2nd Place – Mustafa Ali, Spencer Jolly, Ahmend Ghrari, Santiago Gonzalez-Corzo, and Conor Neely

1st Place – Judah Deuman, Nathan Lehman, Nicolas Vinh, Arian Manshadi

Medical Technology

3rd Place  Joanne Bassett, Tsu Sasai

Off the Grid

4th Place  Judah Deuman, Rowan Jolly, Nicolas Vinh

3rd Place  Joanne Basset, Luke Tanhhal, Spencer Jolly, William Christianson



5th Place   Bea Gimeno, Joanne Basset, Augustine Menke, Nathan Lehman

Prepared Speech

3rd Place – Kylie Symington

Promotional Marketing

3rd Place – Bea Gimeno

2nd Place – Augustine Menke

1st Place – Santiago Gonzalez-Corzo


Stem Animation

3rd Place  Susanna Lee, Tsu Sasai, Kylie Symington

Structural Engineering

4th Place – Tsu Sasai, Luke Tanghal

3rd Place – Arian Manshadi

2nd Place – Jennifer Nguyen, Bea Gimeno

1st Place – Spencer Jolly, Conor Neely


Technology Bowl

2nd Place – Grayden Engstrom, Spencer Jolly, William Christianson

Website Design

4th Place – Rebecca Coates, Santiago Gonzalez-Corzo, Daniel Karpinksy, Jennifer Nguyen

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.